Deb Frazin Photo—The Scientists

Deb Frazin Photo Column—The Scientists

Aug 01, 2021

The Scientists have blasted their way out of the pandemic slumber with their first new studio album in thirty-five years—Negativity on In The Red Records! The album features the original 1981-85 line-up (with Leanne Cowie on drums). Kim Salmon’s voice never sounded better, and it’s completely drenched in dirty, swampy goodness.

“Make It Go Away” is the track on side one that grabbed me first. This fiery song starts off with that classic swirly, repetitive Scientists “hook” that eventually melts down into a sludgy-psychedelic groove. “Seventeen” and “The Science of Suave” both rock that trademark fuzzy, reverby guitar sound that The Scientists are famous for.

It gets a bit slower and weirder towards the end (but not in a bad way). As the album winds down, it makes you feel like you’re slowly being pulled underwater into the deep end of the swamp, until the last song finally fizzles out (“no one can hear your screams”).

This album is a must-have for Scientists fans. If you’re lucky, you’ll be able to acquire the beautifully packaged, limited-edition gold vinyl before it’s sold out. Available at

Thankful Bits is supported and made possible, in part, by grants from the following organizations.
Any findings, opinions, or conclusions contained herein are not necessarily those of our grantors.