YOUTH AVOIDERS: Self-titled (East Coast Invasion 2013 edition): LP

Sep 19, 2013

After a great demo, an excellent 7”, and a split with Zombies Are Pissed!, one of my favorite current bands has their first LP, and wow is it a ripper! Featuring ten new songs, and a new version of “Control” from the demo, there are plenty of tracks here for longtime fans and for those new to Youth Avoiders to get stoked on. “Cold Mines” opens the album with a nice intro that quickly builds into the furious roar of the song itself. Side B has my favorite songs on the album, including the new version of the track “Control,” and the tracks “Smoked Glass” and “Snake Charmer,” which were my favorites of the new material. On their demo and 7”s, Youth Avoiders showed that they could shred, get a bit rock’n’roll, and write some strong hooks. On this album, the band delivers all of that in spades, turning in not only their finest performance on any recording thus far, but managing to add a bit of nuance to their already great songwriting repertoire. The closing track “Oil Slick,” is a great example of this, having a slightly different vibe than the rest of the album, but still fitting right at home in the Youth Avoiders catalog. If you’ve missed checking out this band in the past, do yourself a favor and stop avoiding them.

 –Paul J. Comeau (Deranged, [email protected])