Razorcake Podcast #17: With Sean Carswell

Razorcake Podcast #17: With Sean Carswell
For my second podcast, I decided to celebrate my new novel, Train Wreck Girl. Since I’m both a writer and one of the co-founders of Razorcake, people often ask me about what it means to be a punk rock writer. The truth is, I have no idea. Punk rock is music. Writing is writing. The words on the page only make noise in the readers head. I don’t really see how the two concepts meet. But I do listen to a lot of punk rock when I write. So I gathered a bunch of records and CDs that I listened to while writing Train Wreck Girl, talked with Todd a bit about music and writing, and put this podcast together. Maybe you can listen to it and read the book and tell me what a punk rock writer is.

-Sean Carswell

Playlist:
Grabass Charlestons “Best in Shitty”

Soviettes “You Should Know”
A-Lines “Four”
Charming Snakes “Ammunition”

Cinch “Get Up and Get Out”
Routineers “My Apostasy”

Marked Men “She Wont Know”
Toys That Kill “Breakin’ Out”
Sultans “She’s Gone”
Bent Outta Shape “Tell Me Why”

Screeching Weasel “Celena”

Also, if you want to see me on my tour for Train Wreck Girl, Ill be at the following places on the following days:

May 28, Wednesday Boxcar Books, 310 A South Washington St., Bloomington IN, 7:00 PM

July 8, Tuesday Bluestockings Books, 172 Allen Street, New York, NY, 7:00 PM. With Mickey Hess, Mike Faloon and Justin Bryant.

July 9, Wednesday Brickbat Books, 709 South Fourth Street, Philadelphia, PA, 7:00 PM. With Mickey Hess and Mike Faloon.

July 10, Thursday Commonplace Coffeehouse, 1176 Grant Street, Indiana, PA, 6:00 PM. With Mickey Hess and Ed Carvalho.

July 11, Friday Macs Backs, 1820 Coventry Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH, 7:00 PM. With Mickey Hess and Fred Wright.

July 12, Saturday Quimbys, 1854 W. North Ave., Chicago, IL, 7:00 PM. With Zach Dodson, Mickey Hess, and Joe Meno

July 13, Sunday Twin Cities Zine Fest, Stevens Square Center for the Arts, 1905 3rd Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN, 3:00 PM. With Mickey Hess and Joe Meno.

July 13, Sunday Arise! Bookstore, 2441 Lyndale Ave., Minneapolis, MN, (612) 871-7110. 7:00 PM. With Mickey Hess and Joe Meno.

July 17, Thursday Changing Hands, 6428 S McClintock Dr., Tempe, AZ, 7:00 PM.

July 20, Sunday Vermin on the Mount reading series, Mountain Bar, 475 Gin Ling Way, Los Angeles, CA (Chinatown), 7:00 PM. With Local Acts TBD.

July 24, Thursday Barnes & Noble, 7849 North Blackstone Avenue, Fresno, CA, 7:00 PM.

July 27, Sunday Cocoa Beach Public Library, 550 N Brevard Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL, 3:00 PM.

July 28, Monday A Cappella Books, 484 C Moreland Ave., Atlanta, GA, 7:00 PM.

July 29, Tuesday Little Professor Book Center, 2717 S. 18th Street., Homewood, AL, 4-6 PM.

July 29, Tuesday Bottletree, 3719 3rd Avenue South, Birmingham, AL, 7:00 PM. With Todd Dills.

July 30, Wednesday Barnes & Noble, 780 E. Merritt Island Causeway, Merritt Island, FL, 7:00 PM.

August 14, Thursday Powells Books, 3723 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Portland, OR, 7:30 PM.

August 15, Friday Elliot Bay Book Company, 101 S. Main St., Seattle, WA, 7:00 PM.